top of page
DEFINITELYDONNALEE

My Hair Journey

Hello Honey's! Today, I thought I'd chat about my hair journey and where it all started. Well, not really chat, this is more of a picture story.

(Que "Don't Touch My Hair' by Solange in the background).

I didn't always had an afro. For most of my life I thought straight hair was beautiful on me. It gave me confidence because it made me fit in. Raised roots made me cringe. Also, it was really nice shaking straight hair to the dance moves my cousins and I choreographed 15 minutes before performing in front of our family in the living room. The more our hair shook, the better.

Meet baby me. I don't even know how my mom got that ribbon in my hair. "No hair but the pom-pom is there".

My cousin, Conway and I, straight chilling on the couch.

Individual curls were a viiiibe as a kid and the easiest for my mom to maintain. All you have to get right is matching the pom poms with the outfit - EASY!

Or...the ribbons - STILL EASY! I also remember going EVERYWHERE with my parents.

I was also in a few weddings as a kid. I felt like a princess in this dress. Off-shoulder dresses were a vibe back then already and obvs your girl was keen on this look.

Rocking the classic up-do hairstyle. Again, I felt like a princess.

This was a very complex "up-do", created by the very talented hair stylist, Aunty Mary. Just look at how seamlessly that ribbon was woven into those pinned-up curls.

Another wedding. Another classic 'up-do'. Another white dress. More blue ribbon, but this time it was around the hula-hoop.

I still have no idea what the hula-hoop was for. It must have served a purpose because I never took one picture without it.

This picture was taken one Christmas while holding some of the gifts I received. With my glorious risen roots, I was happy. Very Happy.

The day Jesse was born, Jesse's my brother. Straight hair because it's a special occasion (also the day after Christmas). I remember this outfit and this hospital.

This picture was taken a day or two after Jesse's birth. We just got back home from a day of swimming, zero conditioner in my hair, but definitely a proud sissie.

My brother and I bathing, I was obviously wearing a swirly to protect my hair from the steam and water - essential things! I cannot get over how cute Jesse is. Take me back to those days.

Swirly: (Noun) The bottom end of pantyhose that has been cut off and used to straighten hair without heat. It could also be used in conjunction with heat to speed up straightening process.

Synonym: Swirlkous

Vacation time! This picture was taken on the weekend of my parents anniversary. Obviously Jess, Lauren and I had to include ourselves in this mini vacay.

Both Lauren and I rocking our curly ponies all weekend, freedom!

Bikini life and awkward poses alongside my hot mama.

Do you remember these all-in-ones? You either had the zip in the front (left) or you had the zip in the back (right), I hated these with a passion, but you've got to protect yourselves, kids!

My favorite outfit of all time, halter neck midriff and high-waisted skirt. Matchy-Matchy. And these shades are fire. If I was a cartoon character this would be my permanent outfit of choice.

If I remember correctly, this was taken on my 11th birthday, straightened hair because it was a special occasion. Spur was the birthday destination of choice for every kid and parent.

"You don't know what I've been told. Super Girl is getting old. Don't you worry, don't you fear. It only happens once a year. Yeah-Yeah-Yeah. Oh-oooh. HAPPY BIRTHDAY".

And then there was picture day at school - essential. You only get one chance to get it right, there's no second-take to correct the awkward smiles and crazy hair. This was one of my favorite hairstyles for school, it's called 'Doggy Ears". It's basically two plaits on either side, looped and tied with a ribbon.

And no, I wasn't at a lake close to a forest somewhere. Fake backdrops for the effect.

That one piece of hair that could not be fixed, because you only got one take - Exhibit A. My mom said it blended in with the trees. Again, fake background for the effect. These photographers were low key art directors of note.

Plain background, because this too is a vibe. I also never wore my hair in my face as a kid, it was always back, held back by a hair band or combed back and tied in a pony.

CRINGE WORTHY! Where are my eyebrows?

This was when I got to high school. I remember this hairstyle, it was one I was stuck with for years, chemically straightened hair. I went to the salon to get my hair cut, Kerri Hilson's hair was goals, I asked the lady at the salon to cut my hair just like Keri Hilson's and this was the end result, I wasn't only left with this hairstyle for a few months, I was left with it for years. My hair was cut DEAD, no growth whatsoever. I went for several trims, but nothing helped, switched out my hair products to a range that was a bit more expensive, but that too, didn't help.

My aunt had her own salon that she ran over the weekend. I thought I'd give her a chance to trim my hair and my hair grew like never before. It was healthy again. It had life. It was shining. This was when I switched from chemically straitening my hair to chemically relaxing my hair. It was better for my hair than the straighter was.

This was my last year of school. MATRIC 2010. Took me almost 4 years to get my hair healthy again.

This was taken just before leaving for my matric dance.

Taylor swift inspired hairstyle.

Relaxed hair - compliments of dark and lovely.

April, 2012 was the year I did the big chop. My mom decided to go natural. When she got home I admired how brave she was and the confidence she carried with this tapered TWA. One afternoon, I sat in the car with her and mentioned that I wanted to go natural, just as she did and she challenged me. She told me that I wouldn't do it. Not long after that conversation I made an appointment at my mom's salon and did it. All my hair gone. It was scary at first. I cared about what people thought. For months I saw slow growth progress, but something inside of me encouraged me to keep going and not give in to the pressure society brings upon us. As time passed, I started ricking my TWA with confidence and that's when the growth my hair spiked.

Not everybody was for this natural version of me, I got asked "when are you going to straighten your hair again" often. Although I never initiated the afro, natural hair was definitely not the norm - especially within the coloured community.

As my hair grew, people who saw me everyday became more accepting of it.

All you need is someone in your corner, even if that person is you.

I cannot even imagine life with straight hair again and it was not only about recognizing Donna with the big hair because I never invented the afro. It was about acknowledging what society says and still going against the grain, swimming in the opposite direction, not because you're pressured to but because YOU want to.

My natural hair journey taught me many things, do not give up, things will get better, every cloud has a silver lining and sometimes we need to give up the good for the very good.

I hope this post inspires you!

"Do you boo!" - Shameless Maya


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
bottom of page